Nowadays, women as well as men work full time. Therefore, women and men should share household tasks equally. (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, numerous people argue that since the majority of women have full-time posts, it is essential for men to do a certain amount of housework. In this essay, I intend to discuss this issue in a more balanced way.

Undoubtedly, women are regarded as more proficient in doing household chores in traditional notions. Indeed, women tend to learn finishing housework at an earlier age than men since they are often told by their parents that this will be their duties if they are going to organize a family in the future. Therefore, most women are able to accomplish housework efficiently and considerately, which is particularly important if the family desires a high level of household hygiene. Eventually, women will be responsible for doing all the chores, while men are more likely to focus on their careers, striving to earn more income to support their families.

However, this norm should be abandoned due to the shift in working population. In fact, more women are becoming competent workforce in society, as there is more emphasis on equal educational opportunities between genders nowadays. Thus, if women are holding senior posts in their career ladders, they will have less time available for doing housework, considering that they have to deal with important business tasks and related projects. At this point, men in the family should share a part of household chores in order to alleviate the workloads of women, which can maintain sustainable lifestyles for all family members.

To sum up, although it is a conventional view that women have to take charge of all housework, men should be allocated with some of the chores since more women are having their own jobs.