On balance, advertising is more harmful than beneficial, To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising and its role has only increased over the past decade.We have come to such a time when we must ask ourselves a few pertinent questions, the most important of which is- how much damage or harm does advertising cause? This is a very relevant question in today’s era. We have very much advertising in all dimensions of life,from TV to street to internet. To answer the question it is essential to look at all sides of the case.

First of all, to consider the harm that is caused from advertising. One important point is that many products which are not good for our health may be advertised, for example tobacco or alcohol,or fast food. Many people are suffèring from disease and illness due to consumption of such products. Another factor is the targeting of children in advertising. Many now consume so much sweets and grow up with highly developed consumer needs. Parents suffer pressure meanwhile their little ones demand more and more after seeing the cleverly created commercials on television, and the parents are forced to work even harder just to satieh,needs of their offspring. This offspring becomes part of the consumer society and sometimes lacks a sense of other important values in life, such as loving nature, or concern the environment.

On the other hand, advertising is a vital part of the engine of growth and development in many nations, and all over the world. Without it, how can we know about the products that are being produced? How will jobs therefore be created? Employment and subsequent economic powers are created through sales of goods, which must be advertised in order to be sold. And another point, advertising can spur creativity as well. Many imaginations are used to produce stunning and entertaining advertisements in print and on screen, which are outlets for creativity of people. One point may be thought that this wastes valuable talent.

So all in all, the issue is balanced- advertising has its merits in the right places and it also has its demerits, quite expressively pronounced. On the whole though, I can say advertising is necessary evil and we cannot just forget how important advertisements are in today’s world.