One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Improvement in medical science has consequently increased longevity in human beings. Despite this advancement catering to the problem of over-population, it has helped cure various maladies afflicting mankind.

The biggest advantage of enhancement in medicine is the treatment of terminal diseases. Up until the 19th century, the average life span of a human being was small due to lack of medical research regarding infectious diseases. The discovery of vaccine not only made human beings immune to transferrable diseases but also opened the doors for a plethora of medical discoveries.

For example, Malaria, a disease that has killed more people than any other, is now curable due to the development in medical science.

Over-population is the biggest disadvantage that has been brought upon by better medicinal care. Enhancement in technology, readily available medical support, robust research has all led to the increase in durability of human life. this has caused a unique phenomenon of overpopulation where a big chunk of world’s population consists of senior citizens.

Take China for instance, it is the fastest growing country in the world population wise, with almost half of its citizens above the age of 50.

Improvement in medical care, on one hand, has improved the quality of human health. While on the other hand, has caused problems like over- population.

In my opinion, this enhancement has led to better and richer human life.