One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Health care system has improved significantly allowing people to live longer. While it seems like a good trend as fewer people are suffering from health problems, some adverse effects usually go unnoticed. This essay will discuss how the merits of this trend can outweigh the demerits.

In historical paintings, or movies there are only a few old people residing next to their families, that is because there were numerous infections that were not even identified in that time’s medicine. Thus, previous generations had to focus on their responsibilities from an early age without having a moment to enjoy their life to the fullest. Now that the advanced medical care system is present, individuals have a choice and can rule the course of their actions by themselves. Moreover, with the increased life duration families can suffer less from the loss of their loved ones.

On the other hand, having an increased number of aged nation will also add to the overall population, meaning a competition for the common resources may arise. The scarcity of resources deprives individuals of enjoying high-quality goods and services, since in a capitalistic economy the focus will fall on meeting the quantity of demand. In addition, some claim having good physical health may have certain detrimental effects on one’s mental well-being. This is especially true for retired people, as despite having good physical health, being old they can do nothing but have a sedentary lifestyle.

In conclusion, while humanity says that longer life expectancy is amazing, the economy disagrees saying a holistic view of the situation is necessary. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, because, physically it is not possible for everyone to have a meaningful life while so many people are fighting for basic resources.