One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

We are living in a fast-paced world where medical services are developing day by day. So, there is an irrefutable fact that the average lifespan of individuals is on the rise worldwide. There are some advantages and disadvantages to this situation.

On the one hand, longer life expectancy provides an advantage in terms of living quality and a slowdown of cultural disorder. A country with many highly older adults can be confident of being considered to have a proper quality of life. Everyone usually tells about the highest age of people to comment about a country. Moreover, maintaining the lifespan means that the older generation has more chances to teach the younger knowledge, experience, and their own values. This thing helps to ensure a balanced culture.

On the other hand, it is apparent that there are some drawbacks to increasing an individual’s lifespan, such as straining worker resources and costing more pensions. When someone can live longer, they can postpone retiring. Therefore, they intentionally reduce career opportunities for the younger generation. Besides that, some businesses have trouble finding a new employee who is suitable for their changing demands. On top of that, the ageing population puts a challenge on social security to stabilize the pension system when the economy is going up and down regularly.

To sum up, higher average longevity is not only a good sign of a developed society but also an issue to weigh up to keep the stability of the world pace. Increasing life expectancy is a positive trend overall, reflecting advances in the quality of life and keeping a cultural community. However, it also comes with some challenges, such as strains on the workforce and pension systems. By addressing these challenges, we can ensure that the benefits of increased life expectancy are shared equitably and that our societies can adapt to the changing demographics.