One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to better diagnostic tools and improved healthcare, people can now live much longer than they used to in the past. In my opinion, this development has advantages and disadvantages in equal measure.

One of the main advantages of having advanced medical care is that untimely demise can be avoided to a great extent. For example, cancer is now largely treatable if diagnosed in the early stage. This has enhanced the longevity and life quality of many people suffering from this ailment. In the same way, vaccines have saved millions of lives. When people live longer, they can accomplish their goals in life. They also get to spend more time with their family. They can fulfil their responsibilities and enjoy their life doing things they love.

On the other hand, living longer has its downsides too. When more and more people live to 80, 90 or 100, the demand for resources goes up. They all need food to eat and homes to live in. This can lead to a resource crunch. Another downside is that seniors are a burden on the public healthcare and welfare schemes. The government has to provide pension to more seniors. Another downside is that the elderly are not productive. They are largely dependent on their children or government welfare programmes. In short, when people live longer, they become a burden on welfare schemes.

To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages to living longer. When people live longer, they can fulfil all of their responsibilities and enjoy more time with their loved ones. At the same time, this will lead to an increase in population and resultant resource crunch.