One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

With the numbers of vehicles being manufactured every day, the traffic congestion has become a significant problem faced by nearly every large city in the world. Among the various reasons behind this issue, I believe that the shortage of traffic polices in traffic control zone is the main reason why traffic congestion occurs. To solve this problem, I suggest improving the quality of public transportation services.

The lack of traffic police can result in long lines of traffic jams as drivers may break rules intentionally because there is no one watching over them. Their irresponsible actions of overtaking the vehicle in front, driving in the opposite lane, and making a 180-degree turn in the no U-turn zone can end up causing a major accident—a car crash, for instance, leading to more and longer traffic congestion. Another case is when a long traffic jam forms despite having no vehicles driving on one side of the road. The enormous numbers of cars and trucks crowding on the other side of the road are unable to move because there is no one monitoring the traffic congestion.

The solution to this problem is to improve the forms of public transports such as buses, trains, underground trains. Even if numerous traffic polices have been employed over the following years, there is no guarantee that they will be in duty around the clock. Therefore, by developing and promoting the public transportations, people will feel encouraged to consider using them, rather than private cars, lessening the numbers of vehicles on the road and traffic congestion in turn.