One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

One of the most serious issues facing the majority of large urban areas is traffic jams. The main reason for this is that there are too many private cars on the roads these days and a viable solution is to introduce more park and ride schemes

The number of people owning cars increasing year on year, with most families now having more than one car. Most people like the convenience of travelling at the time they want to, rather than being restricted the public transport timetable, so they prefer to drive themselves around rather than taking the bus or train. This despite the fact that they frequently have to sit in long traffic queues as they are near the city centre. Whenever I have to attend a meeting in the city, I always drive because it means that I can leave my home when I swcent to rather then getting stressed about getting to the cituation in time to catch the train

A solution that is providing a successful in many areas is park-and-ride schemes. This is where you park your car and take up a near by bus or a metro to ride on to the other part of the city. The fee you have to pay for the bus trip or a railway ticket is usually very minimal and this is generally it is very regular, running every ten minutes. A survey carried out in the cities of Europe showed that the rush hour congestion decreased by 10% when park and ride scheme was applied. There was an additional drop of another 10% in the traffic volume when a second scheme began operating to the south.

To conclude, the major urban problem of traffic congestion caused by the excessive number of private cars in city fringes. I would certainly think that used one of it if introduced in my area would be beneficial.