One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jams have become a common issue in nearly all big cities around the world. The main factor contributing to this problem is the increased number of cars and this could be solved by improving public transportation systems in urban areas.

Cars have exploded in numbers in cities which has naturally led to increased trafiic congestion in those places. The constant growth of population in cities multiplied the number of people using cars in order to commute. Due to the lack of decent public tranport system, many city dwellers choose private cars as the main means of travel within a city. When there are more and more drivers on city roads, there is obviously more and more trafic congestion. Thus, growing population combined with the lack of good public transport system in cities cause the problem of traffic jams.

The main viable solution to this issue would be the improvement of public transport. When the governments invest in high-quality buses, trains and inter-city railways, people will start using cars less often and switch to public transport. This will lead to reduced traffic flow in a city as public transport can carry a lot more people while requiring a lot less road space compared to private cars. For example, a single bus can carry 42 people requiring space equal to only 2 cars, which means they are far more space efficient than cars. So, making public transport systems better will reduce traffic congestion in cities.

In conclusion, cities are suffering from traffic jams caused by the increased number of cars and governments should try to build better public transport infrastructure to deal with this issue.