One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jams can be frequently found in the cities, where population is more than 500000 people. They make their toll on citizens and often lead to road rage incidents. I believe that one of the main reasons, which is responsible for it, is an antiquated road infrastructure. In order to address this, I would recommend focusing attention on aspects that can unload road system, such as better urban planning and total overhaul of road network.

The first problem, which is deserved to be mentioned about, is outdated road infrastructure. All big cities, like Toronto or Melbourne, were smaller in the past with the road system that hasn’t been designed to handle the current volume of traffic. Therefore, there are not enough bus and cycle lanes, junctions and roundabouts, reliable public transport, which can help to improve today’s critical situation. Another reason for this issue is overpopulation. The urbanization process has led to the explosive growth of number of people who have moved to cities from rural areas. The population of some cities, like London and Beijing, has increased several times during the twentieth century. In addition, the quality of life has raised either. Thus, having two or more cars for one family doesn’t sound utopian nowadays. The more cars are on the roads, the greater pressure on the road network.

There are several ways how to fix these problems. One of them is better urban planning. The majority of people are aware about traffic congestion issue and ready to use alternative types of transport, such as bicycles and scooters. So, it is a good decision for governments to build new cycle lanes. The more bicycle paths citizens have, the less problems with traffic jams. For instance, up to 70% of people living in Amsterdam are using bikes instead of cars, and there are almost no problems with traffic congestion in that city. Another idea is total overhaul of road infrastructure. Creation of the bus lanes and new subway lines can drastically improve the situation with traffic jams. If people realize that public transport is the fastest and most reliable way to commute to work, they will have less temper to drive their own cars.

In conclusion, while traffic congestion is undoubtedly a serious problem, I believe that competent decisions in urban planning and city development can change the situation for the better.