One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Majority of hustling and bustling cities experienced a same common problem which is traffic jam. This essay highlights the reasons for this issue and ways to address them.

First of all, one of the cause is overpopulation of the city. Generally, some large cities offer many quality jobs for the citizens. This will result in many people migrated to the city to find a suitable job for them. Therefore, there will a huge amount of vehicles used every day for people to get to their workplaces. Moreover, the lacks of major roads and inefficient traffics are pretty concerning regarding of this issue. The number of accessible roads should be proportional to the number of vehicles per day. For example, streets in Kuala Lumpur are well organised and easy for people to navigate through it.

Moving on, one way to address this issue is to provide more the public transportation in the city such as shuttle bus and Light Rail Transit (LRT). In consequence, there will be less jammed traffic due to a significant decrease in vehicles on road. Car pooling should also be encouraged to ensure a smoother traffic. In addition, the government should build more roads inside the city to compensate the city population. Logically speaking, having more accessible roads should lessen the congestion in traffic. For example, the smart lane introduced in some major cities in Malaysia are beneficial for road users as it can provide a smoother traffic especially during peak hours.

In conclusion, there are several reasons for traffic congestion and some methods on how to solve them. Every methods should be taken into consideration to ensure this issue is addressed once and for all.