People buy new things instead of repairing their old things, whereas in the past people repaired their things. Why is the case? What problems it can make?

In recent days, people prefer buying new items to fix old items, while in the past repairing old items was common. As this situation is connected to different reasons, it can be expressed by modern life style, technological advancement, moda, and social factors.

First of all, modern products often manufactured for short-term use. Their designs are complicated and normal person cannot fix them by hand. Manufacturers are making fixing things complicated and expensive, while making buying easily accessible version. Moreover, because of mass production cost of new items became pocket-friendly, therefore, individuals do not like to spend money or time to repair. Another key cause is that advertising and influence of moda as social media, television, and marketing companies constantly urge people to purchase new and modern items.

However, this tendency can lead to several issues. The biggest problem is that dramatic growth in the amount of waste. Environment can be harmed because of throwing away recyclable items may cause air and water to be polluted. Secondly, more raw material and energy needed to manufacture new products and natural resources may demolish quickly. In addition, saving mindset of humans may be weakened and excessive consumption habit maybe shaped. Additionaly, Such a trend may exacerbate social inequality, lead individuals into debt, and diminish personal savings. This can lead to economic and ecologic problems in the long run.

To sum up, as people’s tendency to buy instead of repairing connected to convenient and modern lifestyle, this condition may result in serious ecologic and social issues. For this reason, redeveloping the habit of repairing objects is crucial.