People who travel to another country to live, work or study for a period of time often suffer badly from homesickness. Why is it? What are the best ways to reduce this problem?

In this century, people are increasingly tend to move out of their native place to a completely different place to pursue a course, for an employment, or for immigration purposes. There are several reasons, which make them to get affected by homesickness and all of these impacts can be minimized by some simple behavioural and habitual changes.

Firstly, the main reason for homesickness is inability to cope up with new environment. The things are not same as like their own place, and this makes unnecessary stress in their behaviours. For instance, students and newly married couples are the most affected by homesickness. They could not get the support and comfort after moving to the new nation would make them to think about their home country. In addition, however, meeting different peoples with different backgrounds, at times, reminding them about their families. Some people could not adopt the food habits and culture in the new community also suffer from homesickness. Yet, this can be overcomed by using some techniques, if people embrace to follow.

Secondly, making new friends and concentrate on new hobbies will lessen the effects of homesickness. Whether in a workplace or at university, every adult must try to have friendship with like-minded individuals which helps them to share their happiness and sorrows. Additionally , people can focus on something, which makes them better like hobbies and interests. In such case, involving in sports or music activity also help them to some extent.

To sum up, the new surroundings and unexpected situations are some of the common facts of homesickness, which can be lessened by involving in some enjoyable activities and by meeting interesting strangers.