Peoplw shop more and more nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

People spend more and more on shopping. Although shopping has many benefits, it also has plenty of disadvantages.

There are several advantages that shopping brings to people. Firstly, shopping a lot can help us keep up with trends. Because when we want to purchase something, we need to search for where to buy it and the price, and we get shopping recommendations, access to the latest types of goods, and stay up-to-date. Secondly, spending on shopping boosts economic development. According to the report by the General Statistics Office, consumption in Vietnam reached 476.3 billion Vietnamese dong, up 2 percentage points over the same period last year, accounting for more than 4% of the gross domestic product of Vietnam in 2023.

Besides the benefits that shopping brings, it also has negative impacts on people. Firstly, consumption, especially fast fashion consumption, is very harmful to the environment. In order to produce clothes for fast fashion, producers use fibers such as polyester, which is difficult to decompose completely and takes hundreds of years to decompose. With the enormous amount of discarded clothes produced using this fibre, the environment is severely affected. Secondly, more and more consumers create conditions for a great deal of counterfeit goods to penetrate the market. If we do not consume wisely, we can buy low-quality products that affect our health.

In conclusion, shopping is necessary for people’s lives; however, people need to consume carefully.