Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water pollution which damages aquatic bodies such rivers and lakes is a key concern for individuals who want environmental protection. The sources of this form of pollution are mostly ascribed to human activity and it’s effect on animals and humans are mild to severe. In this essay, I will discuss the causes and possible effects.

First and foremost, dangerous element such as chemicals or bacteria pollute a stream, river, lake, ocean, aquifer or other body of water, the water quality degrades and becomes toxic to humans and the surroundings. Water is uniquely vulnerable to infection. The major threat to the water had been recognized as sewage waste. A large number of factories have been built, particularly following the individual, revolution in the nineteenth century. Which dump their chemical waste into the water bodies. Moreover excessive pesticides and fertilizer usage aggravate the aquatic environment. As a result, harmful chemical pollutants infiltrate the soils and are easily washed away by rain, eventually flowing into streams and lakes.

This issue of water contamination is jeopardizing our health. Each year unsafe water kills more people than all other types of violence combined. A primary source of illness from polluted drinking water is pathogens in the form of disease-causing bacteria and virus from human and animal wastes cholera, gardia and typhoid are among the disease carried by contaminated water. The dilemma causes the submerged species to lose their habitat. People unlawfully discarded the garbage into the water resulting in many dead fish and shrimps floating in the sea.

In conclusion, water contamination has a distratrous impact on fauna and society, therefore government authorities and citizens should take prompt action to address this issue and rescue the planet earth.