Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Poverty is one of the most significant issues in our society and giving financial aid is the common way to solve this problem. There is an argument that developing countries should receive other kinds of support instead of donating money from wealthy countries. From my perspective, I would lean towards this statement and it will be analyzed in the following essay.

To begin with financial support just solves the problem in the short term. To be specific, money can help poor countries buy food in order to cope with starvation in the population. Nevertheless, they do not have any way to earn money except waiting for charity because the root of poverty is low intellectual level, lack of infrastructure and management.

Therefore, it is vital that developed countries should give others ways of help to address poverty such as education and healthcare systems, modern technology which is suitable for agriculture. Although it can not raise the standard-living of developing countries immediately, in the long-run, it is an effective way rather than financial aid. Take Japan as an example, they are not only supporting Vietnam with money but also giving professional expertise in order to help farmers, create new education systems and construct the infrastructure, especially the metro system, highway. As a result, it boosts economic growth as well as reducing poverty.

To summarize, I personally would fall in favor of the notion that while sponsors from developed countries can help the poor immediately, it may not be the effective solution in the long-term for the two reasons mentioned above.