Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends.

I very much agree with this statement being a student myself. Subjects such as mathematics, phyisics, chemistry and biology should be the main concern for students. These are the subjects that will get you far in life because they will help the student build a sense of logic and understanding of the things in life. Some might argue that they won’t need all of the following subjects in the future. However, I think that learning all of them will open a lot more doors for the students, offering further choices concerning their life in view of the fact that that their decision will remain uncertain until college/university. Dressmaking and carpentry crop up to be useless if you do not specilize in the domain itself. Excepting for cooking, it can actually be very useful for every human being in the world to have such skills, saving them the hassle and money of going out and buying a single meal. For that price, you can cook meals for a whole week for yourself. Focusing more on the main idea, these could be more of a side thing to learn, opposite to schools subects, who need to be always the centre point of the students and their guardians.

In conclusion, schools should and have to centralize on academic succes and doing good in exams.