Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

In this contemporary era, some individuals believe that educational institutions should prioritize academic performance and overcoming examinations rather than other skills, namely cookery, fashion design or carpentry since children can learn these from their family members or peers. From my perspective, I, however, strongly disagree with this viewpoint, and will present two major reasons in this following essay.

First, the most significant point worth making is the future occupation that teenagers will pursue. In fact, not all of them obviously opt for careers necessitating a high level of qualification or a prestigious certificate. For instance, some may become bartenders, while others will be amateur cooks at small restaurants. Thus, early exposure to different categories of jobs at schools with the help of well-qualified instructors not only provides students a profound insight in the future job market, which is beneficial for making decisions after high school graduation, but nurtures their innate ability as well.

Second, currently, just spending an excessive amount of time on gaining top-tier academic results may impose a huge burden on young adults’ psychology. There is an ongoing phenomenon that students attend extra classes as soon as they finish school lessons. Therefore, homework assigned may double, which requires them to allocate more time to complete. Ultimately, this can cause several serious health issues, namely insomnia or depression. Only when art or music sessions are included in the training curriculum, will they have chances to partake in such kinds of recreational activities. Not only may stress be alleviated, but grades may be also improved thanks to a better mental health.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the statement that academic performance and exams are the two sole focus at schools, and other skills should be taught at home. The reasons behind this are based on teenagers’ career paths and psychology.