Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Earlier our school’s prime focus was limited to academics only. Extracurricular activities such as arts, cooking etc has been added lately in majority of the schools. People had a different opinion on this action. Some may say it’s not relevant comparing to academics. According to my views, I would like to state that adding skill courses at education institutions are very important.

Some students may get some skill training from their houses,but it’s not a professional guiding and in other cases parents won’t make an initiative to teach their kids some extra skills. On the other hand, there are parents who are well advanced in a specific skill, but fails to pass it to their children. I can illustrate this from my own experience. My mother knows how to swim and stitch, but unfortunately she never made a single step to teach these to me. I learned swimming from an institution lately in my 30’s and I got some tips on stitching, drawing, and cooking from the ad-on courses conducted by my school and college. So I guess this is a right move.

On the other hand, some students lose their focus completely in studies and make these kind of ad-on courses as an excuse to skip classes. That shouldn’t be entertained. I can recollect such kind of incidents taken place in my own school. Few students were neither attended ad-on class nor the main academic sessions. This has been reported by some of the parents and entire programs frozen for few months, which literally damaged opputunities of other students like me. Teachers should monitor the absence of children in order prevent these.

Skill course should be considered as a positive aspect which helps a kid to evolve in other areas along with academics. It helps to relieve some stress as well as can be used in future somewhere. If my shirt is had a small torn, I can manage myself. I don’t need to spent my time in a stitching centre. So I strongly recommend ad-on courses in educational institutions.