Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

There are many thing that students should learn when they are young, skill and academic knowledge. There is an idea that schools should provide and focus only academic success, and abandon skills, which are cooking, dressing, and woodworking for example, development because children should learn them from their family and friends. From my point of view, I do not agree with this statement, and the reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

There are many reason that schools should provide skills practicing for students. For the first reason, students should spend their rest time at their home for doing what thay want, which can be hobby, reviewing interested subject, or developing unique skills. The problem is that student may do not interested in some necessary skills, therefore school should teach those skills in the schools in purpose of making sure that all student have those skills. For example, some student may not interested in cooking, then they do not cooking when they are at home. If school do not teach them to cook, they will not be able to cook when they are adult.

Another reason is that some families that do not have resources to support their children, which can be money or time. Therefore, children may not have opportunity to learn those skills. For example, woodworking is the skill that have to use tools and a workshop to study, and requires experts for teaching and controlling safety. As a result, there are very few family that have members who can do woodworking, and have proper tools. From this reason, school have to provide chance to their student to practice those skills at school.

In conclusion, school should not only focus on academic achievement, but also basic skills that important for living for many reason. Firstly, students should spend their time freely when they are at home, and learn those skills at school. Secondly, some families cannot train their child, therefore developing the skills should not rely on children’s families and friends. The government should provide cost of developing basic skills to all school and train teachers to be able to teach thair students.