Social media platforms have revolutionized how people connect and interact, but they have also been criticized for spreading misinformation and promoting addictive behaviors. Do the benefits of social media outweigh the drawbacks? What measures can be implemented to address the negative aspects of social media?

Social networks have some purposes,such as improving people’s communication, however, some judge it because of incorrect data and addictive points. I believe that the disadvantages of digital media are more necessary than its benefits. To overcome the difficulties that these drawbacks caused, people can get more outdoor hobbies, meditate, and improve their social life. Furthermore, social apps can get rid of false information themselves.

Social media is a key part of mass media which people can communicate easily with. It is not hard to find new individuals to know in it, which is really important for human psychology. We are social creatures, thus new people to discuss something, play certain games, or just talk are needed. One clear example is friendships. Nowadays, people know each other through digital media and become friends. Communicating easily and knowing new people is important but I argue that the drawbacks of social networks are more necessary.

On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages of social media. Firstly, misinformation can easily permeate in social apps. In the modern era, there are a lot of sources in them and differentiating between correct and incorrect data is getting harder. For instance, Elon Musk made getting blue check marks easier, so a lot of disinformation spreaded by people who bought them. Additionally, digital media can bring about addiction to them. Nowadays, it is not hard to find short videos in most of the social media apps. Furthermore, our brain releases dopamine when a video or photo that is shared by us gets liked. So, it is usually not plausible not to be addicted to social media. For example, most of the students are strongly attached to digital networks and it has a bad influence on their academic success.

To remedy these situations, people could get more hobbies that they can do outside. Because of it, they are able to spend certain time without social media and it may make their addiction weaker. Secondly, individuals who suffer because of their obsession, should do meditations. It is such a great way to relax. To illustrate, teachers try to make their students know how to do pen meditation to prevent them from social network addiction. Moreover, people need to improve their social life. If they start to have more face-to-face communications with their family and friends, it will assist them to get rid of this obsession. It is the most popular way to dispose of, because most of the time, people can find people to talk to. Last but not least, the social apps can delete the posts, which have false information in them. As a consequence of it, people can inhibit misinformation. I concede that it is the hardest solution, because there are a lot of inaccurate facts that permeate in social media.

To conclude, although social media has some advantages like creating more chances to communicate, I believe that drawbacks are more necessary, because it has addictive influence on users and there are a lot of untruths in it. In my opinion, only when people spend more time outside, meditate and improve their social life quality can they inhibit the addiction. Moreover, apps need to be careful about misinformation to remedy this situation.