Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Social civilizations have establish rules and laws that allow them to function and sustain. However, some would argue that these social expectations do not benefit people in the society. In my opinion, rules and laws are necessary for societies considering the complexity of human behaviours and the importance of social cohesion.

To begin with, it is crucial to recognize that individuals’ social behaviours can be varied and unpredictable. This is because each person in society inevitably has his or her own set of beliefs and values, which guide how the person acts and subsequently impact one another. If everyone has the right to act however they want, conflicts would be unavoidable. For example, a person who would litter anywhere he wants would totally upset his neighbor who has high hygiene standards and expects a clean living environment. When its people are constantly in disagreement and inflicting on one another’s values, a society may fail to function sustainably.

Furthermore, rules and laws can provide social cohesion, which is essential for people to live and thrive. In particular, they provide an explicit means of communication regarding what is mutually acceptable when interacting with each other. Individuals can rely on this to adjust their behaviours as well as their expectations from others. In Singarpore, for example, thanks to its strict laws on littering, its citizens can trust each other to keep their country a green, clean place. A clear sets of legal rules can provide people with structure and alignment.

In conclusion, while it is true that rules and laws may make people feel restricted in many ways, I maintain that they should be supported for societies to progress. Given that people’ behaviours are complex and unpredictable, a clear set of mutual agreements allow cohesion among them, guiding them towards creating a happy, healthy place to share together.