Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is argued that some children may spend extensive time on smartphones. The reasons why they use these gadgets so much are due to the wide range of accessible activities and educational purposes. However, I believe that increased use of smartphones has negative consequences.

Firstly, these digital devices are used every day by children. Because of the improvement in technology, smartphones provide many things for them, from video games and e-books to online lessons. Secondly, these technological gadgets are the best way to communicate with their peers. Without commuting, they can talk to each other every day with only one button.

On the other hand, I believe that there are negative sides to using smartphones daily. Spending most of their hours on a screen results in many health problems, especially vision problems such as dry eye syndrome or digital eye strain. When these problems are combined with low physical activity due to being indoors, in their future lives, they could become unhealthy individuals. For instance, in the 1990s, many children chose to entertain with their friends in the streets, but the new generation stayed in houses to play with their phones. Thus, surveys show that today’s obesity rate is increasing in children compared to the past as a result of a lack of physical exercise.

In conclusion, the accessibility of range content could be the main reason why smartphone usage is increasing every day. Also,I believe that this could result in vision diseases and physical problems.