Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

With the advancement of technology, electronic devices are getting immersed in our lives at a fast pace. As generations pass, their significance in our lives continues to grow, but so does the threat they pose to us. Back in the day, people used to get their first smartphone only after turning twenty-one or twenty-two years old. However, today, children aged seven to eight years are bought smartphones. Despite the undeniable importance of these devices in our daily lives, if used in an uncontrolled and excessive manner, they pose a grave threat to children.

Humans have come to a stage in time where we might not be able to survive without digital devices, particularly smartphones. Although they have innumerable negative effects on their users, their need makes their usage vital for anything. It is absolutely okay when there is limited usage of these devices only because of their necessity. The problem arises when children spend hours every day on their smartphones. This issue has only been increasing ever since the Industrial Revolution and has continued to pick pace with every passing minute. This is definitely a negative development in society.

Spending hours every day on a smartphone has numerous detrimental effects on one’s health. It not only affects one’s mental well-being but also his/her physical and social health. Apart from this, a lot of time is wasted in doing so. Time which was to be spent doing other things like studying, eating, playing, and working out is eaten up by the several hours spent on a smartphone. This brings productivity down by a huge margin.

As much as we hate this happening, this occurrence is almost sure to see a rise in the future with more developments in technology and decreasing interest in other activities, such as board games, sports, etc. Similarly, the negative effects will only get worse from here on. As growth in the sphere of technology persists, the inclusion of smartphones in the lives of children will escalate and soar to heights not imaginable today. This is not just a negative development, but one of the biggest negative developments in the history of mankind.