Some children spend hours everyday on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In modern day society, each person has one’s own smartphone. But some children spend most of their times using those gadgets. I, ideally, concede that it is negative development.

To start with, overusing of phones by children is most of the times ignored by parents. Parents themselves purchase phones for their children at their early age. Moreover, majority of mothers do not regulate children’s spending hours on phones, apps they have installed and the things they are watching. As a result, child takes it for granted and crosses his or her boundaries in using the phone. On the other hand, when babies cry, mothers prefer showing them videos, cartoons or playing music with the help of their devices. They subconsciously become the reason of increasing interest towards gadgets in their child.

Increasing hours spent on phones have tons of disadvantages for children. Firstly, as they spend at least 3-4 hours staring at the screen of the phone, their eyes will be damaging day by day and may result in disease like short-sightedness or long-sightedness. Secondly, overusing of phone leads to minimizing the time that should be spent on knowledge gaining. If gets disturbed by gadgets, even top student of the class starts to lose his or her focus on education. It affects not only their health, but also future jobs. Spending time on solely smartphones, they may not have adequate knowledge to get accepted to their dream university.

To sum up, I would concede that onus is mostly on parents for increasing usage on phones. Moreover, this is totally negative development.