Some children spend hours everyday on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Improving in technology, especially consumer electronic, has made daily electronic device more sophisticated and useful, such as smartphones, computers, and smart watches. The generation after 2000s began to introduce in early age, and these appliance have made up an inseparable part of their lives right now. This situation cause to unconsciously spend their hours every day on their phones. Moreover, excessive time spent on the screen cause to see serious problems on advancing age.

In today’s globalized digital world, the age used among the children has gradually decreased. Children all over the world use smartphones for various purposes. Facetiming with their friends and families, playing game, spending times on social media, or taking online course are among the purpose of using smartphone. Additionally, accessing the smartphones has become easier than ever before, and improving technology results in a decrease in costs, such as the expenditures of manufacturing and technological materials. When improving technology and these reasons get together, unfortunately, it is a very common activity to spend time on mobile phone hour after hour among children. All these factors make it a significant issue for both children and parents.

On the other side, these people who use smartphones above a certain time per day on tend to see both psychologic and physical health problems advancing age. Social isolation (social media applications are designed to bring people together online, which may cause to disconnect their relationships from the real world), depression & anxiety can be categorized into mental problems, while eyestrain – Eyestrain is a common condition when occurs when your eyes get tired from intense use, such as while driving long distance or staring at computer screens and other digital devices- , poor posture, physical inactivity and obesity can be some examples for physical problems. The children who spend over time on the screen generally carry the possibility of classifying into obese ones at high level compared to the children who have an ability of balanced usage and this situation can be generalized for visual disturbances. Likewise, children cooped themselves up in virtual environment and playing games including violence tend to act more aggressive against the peers because children can feel subconsciously unlimited freedom of doing anything what they want.

Finally, it is impossible that children keep away these gadgets like smartphones even though it is known that uncontrolled usage of these devices cause various health problems for children. However, if both parents and children are educated against the overusing usage at least, these effects can be minimize.