Some children spend hours everyday on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is argued that children spend most of their time each day staring at their smartphones. The reason for this, I believe, is that there are a lot of interesting things to watch, especially for children. Although there could be some good sides, like it helps children to pass the time, the side effects are far more serious.

Children can spend hours on their phones without eating or getting distracted. This is because there are interesting social media apps like TikTok, Instagram, and YouTube, on every phone. In addition, these social media apps come with pros and cons, which I will discuss below.

On the one hand, children who watch their phones for hours get only one benefit: passing the time. There are some children who are unable to eat, walk, run,, or even stay alone. They get bored, for sure, so smartphones are the ideal option for them. For example, COVID-19, which originated in China in 2020, caused many children to become sick globally. The children had to do something during their recovery. The hospital provided a smartphone for each patient.

On the other hand, there is a huge problem to consider before letting any kid spend hours on his or her phone: overall well-being. Smartphones emit ultraviolet rays, which are very dangerous to children’s overall health. These rays can cause children’s eyes to become blurry and can even lead to disability. When children simply stay in front of their phones without moving, their spines will begin to develop health issues.

In conclusion, I believe that children’s use of their phones could be caused by their interest. There are some advantages to using smartphones; for example, to pass the time. However, using them too much will cause health issues, like eye and spine illnesses.