Some children spend hours everyday on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, technology advancement plays a crucial role in children’s upbringing. This trend is mainly due to education and entertainment. While some people think that there are many advantages to children using smartphones, I believe that it can affect negatively their behavior for three reasons.

There are a number of reasons for the overuse of smartphones by children. Firstly, amusement is a key reason. In addition to children, many teenagers and even adults are attracted by PCs and mobile phones for entertainment. Nowadays, many companies allocate money to invest in this area. Another important reason is education. After the COVID-19 pandemic, many parents and numerous schools used the internet to educate pupils. Consequently, the use of smartphones has increased significantly until now.

However, in my opinion, the overuse of smartphones and laptops has negative influences on youngsters. While I concede that utilizing technology can help them learn digital skills, there should be a time limitation on use because of the lack of physical activity. Young children and adolescents need to play actively. For example, they should spend some of their time in playgrounds or on a football field. Therefore, this development can lead to health issues.

Moreover, most children and teenagers lack communication skills. Some parents say that their children achieve good scores in school and are good at using computers, but I would argue that I would argue that, in addition to computer training and learning subjects such as math, they also need to learn important skills, such as communication skills. As a result of overusing smartphones and computers in their rooms, they may face problems making friends.

In conclusion, although children and adolescents often use smartphones for education and recreation, this trend has negative aspects, such as physical problems and an inability to communicate effectively, that can lead to difficulties in their daily lives.