Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

It’s widely known that children spend a lot of time on smartphones. This is a common concern for all parents who have children in young age. While some may argue that this can benefit their child in various ways, others see it as a big disadvantage. Therefore, let’s dive into the reasons why kids spend hours on the mobile phone, why some people see it as a good point, and why others see that it affects them?

The fact that a lot of kids put their time on a phone is very popular. But why do children do that? It’s commonly the case that their parents don’t have a lot of time to take care of them, due to long work hours or being busy. Moreover, a common reason will be that the parents themselves spend much time doing the same thing, playing on the phone, which drive the baby to do the same.

Some may see that this may make the kid smarter by making him communicate with visual games and videos. In my opinion, this may advantage the baby if and only if the videos are useful, for example, it has a scientific content. Moreover, age may defer in harming or advantaging the kid.

Another opinion will be that this affects the baby in a bad way. This is a common concern as it’s really harmful to kids below a certain age. Phones may be dangerous in various ways, for example, the internet have a lot of sexual and explicit content which is very danger for a kid below 18 years old. Moreover, the blue light coming from the screen may harm the eyes of the baby, which will make him suffer in the future.

In my opinion, kids must stay away from smartphones. It may harm them in a lot of ways. Moreover, to avoid this, parents should spend more time with their child. A simple game between a father and child may be more beneficial to the kid, mentally, than using a smartphone.