Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Considerable amount of time is spent working with elecronic gadgetes by adolescents nowadays. Various factors can be mentioned that contribute to this phenomenon. I consider this to have detrimental effects on youngesters while many people would argue that this deas not necessary results in drawbacks.

Myriad reasons could be counted that led children to becom dependent to their phones. Firstly, It can be stated that social media is becoming the solely platform in which young adults are communicating with each other. Furthermore, higher numbers of schools are adapting new technologies for educational purposes everyday , making smartphones an inevitive part of student life. Lastly, by offering a number of games, these gadgets are primary source of sparetime for many kids. Therefore, it is reasonable to see younger generation spending a large portion of their day working with their phones.

To determine the pros and cons of such behavior, both views need to be mentioned. On one hand, it is correctly argued by some that having children’s presence more at home, beside their parents, it should be easier to control and upbring children in accordance with family’s values. On the other hand, from a personal stanpoint, kids may not be able to nurture other necessary skills, such as in person communication and friend making . Thus, although children presence at home may culminate in an adult who value family above other aspects of life, I believe that they might not be able to hone other vital skills.

To conclude from given arguments, a range of reasons from communicational to educational may have led to the high use of smartphones amongst kids. This trend is deemed by some to help have close-knit families, but in my opinion the disadvantages outweigh the advantages as we could observe children with better social skills if this was not the case.