Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, the massive development of technologies such as smartphone, computer or video games has changed our habits. Obviously, children are also impacted by these aftermath. For fifteen years the time passed by teenagers on their smartphones has rocketed. From my point of view, this situation brings numerous disadvantageous and my essay will emphasize my opinion.

Firstly, science proved that an excess of consumption of digital items could weaken the cognitive capabilities. Consequently, if a child spends too much time on his smartphone he will probably suffer from a lack of concentration during his classes. For example, recently scholars have published researches which show a link between the school performances of youth and their inclination to spend time on their smatphones. Furthermore, a strong regulation from parents concerning digital tools could seem to have a positive effect on children’s results at school.

Secondly, the increase of the time spending on smartphones, prevents youth to discover other activities. As a result, other ways of entertainment such as reading or sport are less practised compared to last decades. For instance, several studies indicate that reading has been marked by a significant decline for ten years and the growth of smartphones could be an explication in Western countries. Moreover, sports are also hit by a gradual decrease of their number of adherents belong children. Of course, for the moment there is no evidence of a correlation between the rise of the time spending on smartphones and the fall of sport’s popularity, but it could be a possibility.

To conclude, I believe that an excess of smartphone utilisation for kids could provoke many negative consequences due to the fact that diminished the concentration and divert from other benefic activies such as reading.