Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, many countries have taken the controversial decision to set a limit on working hours for employees. While someone may consider it a negative development, I believe instead that the introduction of such regulations is a positive improvement.

Focusing attention on the reasons that led governments to introduce these laws, crucial considerations can be made. Firstly, they are aimed at fighting the increasingly global phenomenon of worker exploitation. Even though some enterprises recognize that it is unethical, they try to push production to its maximum level due to the capitalistic pressure they are subjected to. Therefore, in order to protect employees’ rights and help them achieve a proper work-life balance, governmental institutions opted to restrict the decision-making power of large corporations regarding their workers’ working time.

In my opinion, the introduction of a more regulated job market brings more benefits than drawbacks. Recalling the previously mentioned work-life balance, it is possible to guarantee employees more free time to spend on leisure activities. Consequently, with employees being more relaxed and less stressed, their efficiency will increase and the companies will benefit from it. Had companies of the past known that the time spent in the office is not a good indicator of efficiency, they may have implemented these kinds of policies themselves.

Those who argue that it is a negative development claim that such measures are not the most suitable ones to help employees, who could see a reduction in their wages. They also state that to concretely protect their rights, a minimum wage should be set, instead of reducing working hours.

In conclusion, even though I agree that there could be better legislation to protect employees’ rights, I am still convinced that the introduction of such laws represents a positive development since they will reduce exploitation and improve work-life balance.