Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years numerous countries have implemented labor laws; This in turn has people questioning whether or not these laws are a boon or a bane. This essay will be looking into why the government might have decided to implement these laws as well as the pros and cons of such laws.

Human beings are capable of many things, However, There is a limit to how much workload a person can handle within a specific duration of time. A study was conducted in Japan which revealed that many Japanese workers felt depressed and disconnected from their family due to being wrapped up in work for more than 10 hours. It was also noted that majority of these workers suffered from chronic stress leading to high blood pressure as well as severe muscle aches. This shows that overworking can cause a wide range of problems from depression to familial issues and well as pose a threat to physical health.

As a result of these laws; People are now able to relax more and spend more time with their loved ones, Their physical health has also shown significant improvement as they no longer have to strain their muscles for too long. Now onto the cons, Decreasing working hours leads to slow industrial and economical progress, Other than that there will be a reduction in the financial incentives that one receives as they are now working less. Though the country might progress a bit more slowly the benefits of these laws definitely outweigh the negatives.

In conclusion these new laws have sparked a domino effect with country after country adopting it due to wanting to prioritize their staff as well as their needs. Governments are therefore in the right for establishing these laws as employees now have space to breathe and spend time with their families.