Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s situation, governments in some nations have implemented regulations for maximum working hours. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind it and decide whether it brings advantages or disadvantages.

While all companies want to maximize the productivity of their workers to gain revenues, there is still a limit that needs to be complied with for employees’ working hours. It is because as human beings, workers need rest at some points. Without any rest, the human body will be saturated, and their productivity in their work will be declining. Moreover, by making laws to limit working hours, governments can also ensure a work-life balance for every worker, resulting in good mental health of the citizens in the countries.

Furthermore, there are also some positive and negative impacts as the effects from that new regulation. Firstly, as the positive impacts, employees’ safety and health in the workplace are protected with this rule. There will be no overtime work that employees need to do without any additional pay. Secondly, as the negative impacts, companies’ productivity could be lowered as their working hours are cut. In addition, to restore the productivity level and companies’ performance, they need to add more cost for increasing the number of employees or paying for employees’ overtime works. However, I believe that this could be tackled with the right strategy from the companies’ leadership team and efficient works by all employees.

In conclusion, rules on the working hours for workers are a right move as they ensure the safety and health of employees. Although it could also decrease the companies’ productivity, leaders in the companies need to implement the right strategy for efficient works to overcome this problem.