Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Various laws have been introduced regarding labor in some countries. These laws are established for the betterment of the society. I will expand my views regarding this matter.

Currently the average working hours of an adult for a week in my country are around 50 hours. This extreme workload saps away the energy, creativity and happiness of people. Balanced working hours give way to a healthy and fresh mind which performs more efficiently. Ultimately it benefits everyone involved-the worker, the employer and the society as a whole.

This is supported by studies that show that tired and enervated people are less productive and display wanting cognitive ability. On an individual level it also inhibits the personal growth and fulfillment by eating away at their personal time. The person can’t grow professionally and keep themselves updated; which is very important for some fields like the technology sector where individuals are expected to attend meetings, seminars and master new skills in an ever-evolving world along with their work duties. This is also self-explanatory in the art sector that primarily relies on creativity and inspiration.

The person is also unable to participate in social activities which are vital and cornerstone of being a human being. I remember upbringing my younger sibling because of the hollowing absence of my parents due to their stringent work duties. Thus this also affects the younger and older generation by keeping them away from their family. Incessant hard physical labor wears the body away and is leading to chronic diseases in later life while lowering the life expectancy itself.

Thus I conclude that judicial laws about curtailed working hours would benefit the employees and employers alike abetting a positive development cycle and giving rise to a prosperous world for everyone.