Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Experts worldwide, both in developing and developed nations believe that several countries are establishing laws and regulations to lower the time limit of working hours. The reason for this is that numerous people work overtime in order to save more money. As a result, they are unable to make a healthy lifestyle. In my perspective, it is positive progress but holds some flaws, which I will discuss further.

On the one hand, cutting down working hours will prevent the health of workers not only physically but mentally. Good health will make workers feel more at ease and allow them to use their abilities creatively and innovatively, which is crucial for businesses to obtain a competitive edge. Moreover, it allows individual workers to spend more time with their friends and families which develops a sense of love among each. However, if they have to work overtime, they will feel exhausted and depressed which will affect their work. According to a 2023 survey, researchers have stated that 90 percent of people have overcome their depression by working fewer hours and spending more time with their loved ones.

On the other hand, despite some useful aspects, limiting working hours also has some drawbacks. The main reason for this is that some people have a lot of duties and must take care of their fundamental requirements, but due to limited working hours, several individuals won’t be able to fulfill the financial needs of their families.

In conclusion, although there are negative points, I personally assert that the advantages overweighs the disadvantages in many aspects.