Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Working hours have become a central topic of the rising debate in the present world. While employees argue that they are being exploited, employers dispute that they are not getting enough profit. In my opinion, long working hours are a negative development. Therefore, laws must be made by the government to set limits on working hours. This essay will explore the consequences led to introducing labor laws.

To commence with, there are several compelling arguments supporting my belief. The most prominent one is that working all day in extreme conditions may have devastating effects on workers’ mental and psychological health. For example, according to research conducted by Western Sydney University, 80 percent of workers having to work more than 8 hours a day suffer from psychiatric illness. This example explains why authorities around the world are enacting laws to protect these workers.

Another point to consider is that strict laws could restrict the exploitation of business owners, forcing them to have empathy for their employees. Consequently, the workers would have a potential passion for the workplace after realizing they are not being exploited. For instance, a survey carried out in the United States revealed that the proficiency of the staff increased by 50 percent over the usual. For this reason, making strict laws prohibiting working too long a day is beneficial for the workforce as well as the investors.

To conclude, there are legitimate concerns regarding excessive working hours. As a result, harsh restrictions must be made in all nations to protect citizens from being exploited by business tycoons. Moreover, these regulations must be carefully supervised and monitored. Therefore, these laws should be embraced and utilized in a responsible manner. However, their improper or excessive use should be discouraged. With the right approach, these rigid guidelines can continue to positively impact our lives and society as a whole.