Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

There is an ongoing debate on whether extensively or intensively focusing on disciplines is more beneficial for 15-year-old students. While some assert that students should allocate their time for many different subjects before leaving school, others, my included, argue that although concentrate on a broad of subjects can provide students with well-rounded knowledge, studying a few subjects will be more advantageous for learners in terms of developing expertise and potential talents.

Those who advocate for comprehensive education system may argue that this will help students at the age of 15 fully develop. In fact, dedicating time on a wide rage of subjects will equip them with adequate knowledge, well preparing them for their future. In addition, widely concentrating on disciplines may indirectly make students more employable. In this day and age, recruiters not only seek potential employees depending on their expertise but also their adaptability as well as flexibility to take different responsibilities in various fields, which can acquire from well-round education system. For instance, in Vietnam students aiming to enroll in engineering courses at university are not only required to have good grade in Math or Physics, knowledge that they can acquire from non-majored disciplines like English or Computer Science can offer them a competitive edge compared to those who are not familiar with foreign language or computer.

On the other hand, learning certain subjects will be advantageous for learners in balancing their studies and life. First, focusing on their favorite subjects will help them acquire in-depth knowledge, which is the determinant for achieving their highly expertise in specific areas. This few-subject-focused system may enable students’ competence in specific field to be discovered and cultivated at a very young age, allowing them to reach their full potentials. Moreover, learners will take the weight off their shoulders in the learning process because they have many breaks to enjoy other interests and pursuits such as playing sports or joining clubs. Scientifically, these activities increase their study efficiency and academic performance, so such an education system is much better than that forcing students to learn various subjects.

In conclusion, although there are several advantages of focusing on multiple subjects when it comes to comprehensive growth and employability, they seem to be paled in comparison with the positive impacts that studying a few subjects may bring in terms of intensively developing students’ capabilities and enhancing their learning productivity.