Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although some companies argue that their staff should wear formal clothes because this shows their high status and enhances discipline, other organisations made a decision to allow their employees to dress casually because this makes the working environment better, therefore, improving performance. As for me, I side with those who value quality of work rather than how their personnel look.

On the one hand, there are a whole nine yards of companies that enforce their employees to wear formal and neat clothes, and usually these are financial and journalistic organisations. They explain their dress code by saying that it improves the discipline within the team, also for the staff that works directly with clients, formal clothes show the status and seriousness of their organisation so a customer doubts them less. Additionally, this may enhance team’s performance in general because workers have fewer distracting stimuli and can focus their attention only on their work. In my opinion, this approach has little application nowadays due to the fact that many people started to work from home after the pandemic and they stopped interacting with clients face-to-face.

On the other hand, the vast majority of IT companies do not have any dress code and their employees wear everyday clothes at work, because this makes it more comfortable to work and every person can express themselves freely. Usually, formal clothes such as shirts and classic pants cause a lot of discomfort, hence, some of the personnel can be very irritated and constantly distracted by this problem but this will cause a decrease in team performance. Therefore, many organisation have decided to cancel their dress code, and I agree because clothes are the thing with that a person interacts all day long, so if it is very uncomfortable, it will be like a torture, I also think that there should be as few boundaries at work as possible.

To conclude, while some companies still think that their staff have to wear formal clothes because it improves discipline, I side with those who value quality of work because it causes fewer distractions and improves performance.