Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A lot of people believe that bad innate characteristics leads to criminology, while others think that social insecurity, hunger, sanitation, hygiene, lack of shelter and basic necessities leads a person to commit a crime. I agree that lack of fundamentals may persuade an individual to commit a crime.

Crime can be done by a person who is earning enough to have a living and can fulfil his responsibilities towards his family. For instance, a policeman does his duties and earn a suitable income ,but still, he bribes and intimidates people to get more and more . In this scenario, a person is innate to bad characteristics.

I am more convinced with the statement that lack of basic needs like food, water, medicines, sanitation and shelter may increase the crime rate as the person can’t survive without them. Moslow’s theory of hierarchy describes all these elements as basis of survival for a living being. For example, refugees are not provided with enough necessities for a living, their poverty and social problems persuade them to meet the ends for them and their families.

So, committing crime is somehow irrational and can be done by a socially secure person, who can live a suitable life and can also be done by a timid one who is striving to fulfil his needs. I think the absence of essential needs leads a person more towards committing a crime than innate behaviours.