Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that illegal activities stems from several reasons. Many people agree that personal traits should be the main cause which encourage people from commniting a crime, while I belive social issues and poverty have a profound impact on people behavior in breaking the law.

On the one hand, a person’s nature is considered as a decisive matter whether or not they might turn to criminals. No matter what a background is, a well-trained officer can be commit an offence, and in return, a singly poor man living in harsh condition might never get his hand dirty. For example, in Vietnam recent years, there are many cases of economic corruption and bribery that have occurred by people with knowledge and power. Those individuals who are fostered by wealthy families and have many prestigious degrees.

On the other hand, it seems to me that social issues and living in misery are the primary reasons lies behind crime. Firstly, there is a high unemployemnt rate in a scarced job market, especially after economics crisis in recent years. Consequently, to make ends meet, people are ready to do everything they could to have money, which including break the law. Secondly, children who have a poor condition of living, suffering in a certain time with lacking of a chance to access necessities. Therefore, they have to work at very young age to support their family. They nurture the dream of getting rich quickly and are passionate about having a high income, so they are willing to trade everything, even embarking on the path of drug trafficking, pickpocketing,… just to be able to survive.

In conclusion, although both views have some merits, I still believe that social issues and poverty play an significant role in making people commit a crime.