Some people believe that businesses should focus only on making a profit, and they do not have a responsibility to society. Do you agree or disagree, give your own opinion.

It is argued by some people that businesses should solely concentrate on maximising their profit without taking social responsibility into account. In my opinion, I firmly disagree with this viewpoint, as social accountability plays a crucial role in shaping a company’s practice in producing high quality products which directly influence consumers’ health and helps businesses generate greater profit through sustainable branding.

On the one hand, if businesses neglect their social responsibility and just solely focus on profit , this may lead to the production of substandard products and ultimately harm consumers’ health. This is because using poor ingredients will reduce the cost of production, which directly boosts the revenue of businesses. Additionally, absorbing poor products is the main reason for creating health problems such as: cancer, digestive problems and other risks. For instance, the Viet A company in Vietnam was criticized for using rotten vegetable ingredients in producing vegetable candy, this makes many people get stomach issues. This clearly demonstrates that the ambitious for profit maximization and lack of social responsibility often hides a serious threat of ethical standards in society, which directly affects people’s health.

On the other hand, businesses can generate profit by showing greater concern for society. This is because we are living in the era of social cohesion, so that people tend to have a good impression of the social-oriented businesses. For example, Lotus is an aluminum roofing firm, they are the main sponsor for a TV program, which helps disadvantaged families rebuild their house with its roof product. As a result, Lotus has become a household name across the country for roof products. This clearly shows that the more companies care about society, the higher its brand name awareness gets, which ultimately leads to greater profit.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that businesses should not solely focus on earning profit. They need to balance financial growth with social responsibility, as this approach enables them to enhance long-term sustainability not only in their high quality products but also by strengthening their brand image.