Some people believe that government should increase the price of petrol to reduce car accidents. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether expensive petrol can help mitigate accidents on road, however, I consider that road reconstruction and stricter laws can be more feasible solutions.

To start with, it is plausible that increasing petrol prices can be an effective way to prevent collisions on roads. As petrol is much cheaper, many people have an easy access to it which encourages car owners use their own vehicles, leading to numerous accidents on roads nowadays. The more expensive fuel is, the fewer people travel by their automobiles, so policymakers should take actions to grow petrol prices. For example, after this legislative measure, teenagers cannot afford to buy petrol in many European countries, resulting in a huge decline in lethal road accidents.

On the other hand, there are more effective methods that should be implemented by authority. The maintenance of roads should be carried out to provide smooth and safe traffic for both drivers and passengers. Unfortunately, today many roads do not meet basic standards, especially most of them are in poor condition requiring reconstruction. If roads are not reconstructed, drivers will not be able take maneuvers on bumpy and slippery roads. Consequently, unless proper actions are taken by the government, even fatal car accidents are going to be frequent.

Additionally, the government can enforce laws which help mitigate collisions. Since there is are not harsh penalties against traffic violations some drivers think that they can get away with the situation. Those drivers usually either exceed the speed limit or drive under the influence then break the law that leads to the death of thousands of people in car accidents annually. Therefore, governments with strict penalties for DUI, speeding and reckless behaviour – such as Finland and the Netherlands- consistently report lower accident rates.

In conclusion, although expensive petrol price contributes to reducing car accidents, the reconstruction of roads and establishment of strict penalties for those who break traffic rules can yield benefits in the long run.