Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Some hobbies are relatively easy, while others present more of a
challenge. Personally, I believe that both types of hobby can be fun, and
I therefore disagree with the statement that hobbies need to be difficult in
order to be enjoyable.
On the one hand, many people enjoy easy hobbies. One example of an
activity that is easy for most people is swimming. This hobby requires
very little equipment, it is simple to learn, and it is inexpensive. I
remember learning to swim at my local swimming pool when I was a child,
and it never felt like a demanding or challenging experience. Another
hobby that I find easy and fun is photography. In my opinion, anyone can
take interesting pictures without knowing too much about the
technicalities of operating a camera. Despite being straightforward,
taking photos is a satisfying activity.
On the other hand, difficult hobbies can sometimes be more exciting. If
an activity is more challenging, we might feel a greater sense of
satisfaction when we manage to do it successfully. For example, film
editing is a hobby that requires a high level of knowledge and expertise.
In my case, it took me around two years before I became competent at
this activity, but now I enjoy it much more than I did when I started. I
believe that many hobbies give us more pleasure when we reach a higher
level of performance because the results are better and the feeling of
achievement is greater.
In conclusion, simple hobbies can be fun and relaxing, but difficult
hobbies can be equally pleasurable for different reasons.