Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that difficulty is crucial in a hobby to make it profitable. I totally agree with the statement at first because our brain has to perceive some challenges in our activities to make us feel satisfaction and then by the fact that without difficulty, hobbies become boring obligations.

The human body needs to feel adversity to make us feel enjoyment. Our brain has different parts that have to be stimulated to produce multiple feelings that we experience every day. As a result of this, the challenging aspects of these daily activities have a crucial impact on our body that is essential to make us enjoy. For example, an article published by the Oxford Journal Gazette demonstrates that activities need to laborious to stimulate the specific frontal part of our brain that produces enjoyment.

A hobby that lacks difficulty quickly becomes an obligation. When people are looking for an activity to repeat many times per week, where they know they are going to invest time in it, the only thing wanted in these moments is entertainment. Consequently, when an activity is not demanding, it becomes a boring situation. For instance, when I started playing tennis when I was 7 year old, I found it extremely easy so I did not choose it as my hobby because I was often bored and I needed to feel some challenges to find pleasure.

To conclude, our head requires a degree of difficulty in our daily activities to make us enjoy when we practice them. Also, when these exercises are not demanding, they become no more a hobby but a boring time. I wholeheartedly agree with the statement and I recommend people nowadays to look for challenging hobbies.