Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hobbies are relatively easy, while others present more of a challenge. Personally, I believe that both types of hobbies can be fun, and I therefore disagree with the statement that hobbies need to be difficult in order to be enjoyable.

It is essential to recognize that enjoyment is a highly subjective experience influenced by personal interests and emotional responses, and that can easily explain why easy hobbies can also make people feel well. Most people are afraid of intricate preparation, which is why more people are likely to get lost even without getting started, and they are likely to choose a leisurely stroll in nature or a simple board game such as chess as one of their hobbies. These activities can reduce stress, clear our minds and foster a joyful atmosphere for our mental health.

On the other hand, difficult hobbies may also lead people to experience a profound sense of joy. Some people see those difficulties as obstacles from which they plan to gain a great amount of accomplishment and thus feel enjoyment. For example, cooking and baking have complicated procedures that require an array of preparatory processes, such as researching recipes, sourcing unique ingredients, and obtaining specific equipment. People may feel satisfied by overcoming a series of steps and then be pleased by the final product, such as delicious cuisines or plenty of good-looking desserts. This satisfaction would also generate people’s motivation to take more challengeable recipes and thus gain more happiness.