Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some say that there are too many options in current days. In this essay, I will explain why I think we have too many choices.

There are several reasons why we have such a vast way to make an option in our current society. Firstly, marketing competition has been much more demanding than in the past. For example, many companies have to strive to sell their products adding some characters to make it very original to attract consumers. For example, in Japan, many electronic items have only minor changes in the same model of the products such as hair dryers and Televisions although, the previous models, remain in the market to sell. It is clear, this situation is one of the causes for us to have too many options in our everyday lives.

Another important point is that the shipping system has been globalised much more than in the past. This is enabling many companies to import and export many kinds of items from other areas of the world. For example, in the early 80s’ we could hardly see foods from overseas in Japan, such as olive oils and snacks, which meant people had to make decisions from limited choices. If people wanted these international commodities, they had to visit special shops to buy them at very expensive prices. However, in 2024, the trading system thrived and it enabled products from overseas in many actual shops and online in addition to domestic items.

In conclusion, I agree that we have more options to make our choices because of marketing competition and thrive of shipping systems.