Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some say that there are too many options in current days. In this essay, I will explain why I think we have too many choices.

There are several reasons why we have too many options in our current life. The first reason is that there is a huge marketing competition. For example, in the old days, people only had several companies like Toshiba and Panasonic producing electric products such as fridges, washing machines and vacuum machines. However, in recent days, we have more companies competing to sell their products in the same categories. To survive this situation, companies must produce new items with minor changes to produce their products on marketing promptly. Clearly, this marketing competition is encouraging more commodities for consumers to choose from.

Another important point is that the shipping system has been globalised compared to the past. This is enabling many companies to import and export many kinds of items from other areas of the world. For example, in the early 80s’ we could hardly see foods from overseas in Japan, such as olive oils and snacks, which meant that people only had limited items to choose from. However, in 2024, the trading system thrived and it enabled products from overseas. Not only shops on the road but also online. Additionally, people may import what they want individually online as well.

In conclusion, I agree that we have more options to make our choices because of marketing competition and thrive of shipping systems.