Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that people have been provided with too many options in this day and age. I totally agree with this view. Indeed, the widespread use of the Internet has opened up extensive choices for people, but these choices are often too many for people to deal with.

Firstly, the Internet grants access to a wide range of information around the world, leading to more options for each individual. It is because information can now easily be found online with a simple click through online platforms such as Google, or Bing, regardless of geographical distance. Meanwhile, when the internet had not been invented yet, people had to resort to paper-printed documents. However, those documents were not easily accessible to everyone, especially those living abroad. Because people now have more information, they also have more options compared to the past. For instance, when choosing a university, applying for a position, or buying something, there are many options available online.

Nevertheless, the choices given are just too bewildering for anyone. For example, when selecting an appropriate university to attend, students can be overwhelmed by the vast range of universities they can apply. It is not just a simple choice among local universities, but now the minors would have to consider amongst various institutions, colleges, national and international universities. The same pattern can be seen in other aspects of life such as job opportunities, tickets purchase, or shopping. With too many choices to choose from, one can find themselves having a hard time to know which option would be the most suitable for them.

In conclusion, the prevalence of the Internet has prompted the access to more information, thus contributing to diverse choices. However, these choices are often perceived as too many for individuals.