Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices

Choices are made for living beings to select when given two or more options. Many argue that humans are given too many selections. This essay will discuss on the benefits and drawbacks of this topic.

Choices are helpful to humans because they give us autonomy and freedom. This demonstrates that people would be able to express their preferences, desires, and values, which contributes to their personal preferences. For example, citizens of a democratic country would have been given choices to choose what type of government best suits their needs. By implementing this system, citizens would feel more engaged in this country. Moreover, it also allows consumers to make decisions on what type of products best fits them rather than just having minimal options for the product.

While that may be true, having too many choices may also cause detrimental problems such as regret or even social pressure. For instance, when students graduate from university, they would be given numerous offers from different companies. It could lead individuals to feel left out on opportunities when they perceive they had made a wrong decision.

On top of that, individuals might make choices based on social norms which don’t represent themselves overall. In today’s world, there are a fair amount of hidden rules that are set for humans. For instance, a fairly known example would be boys can’t buy pink. Because of this, men who are fond of light red would feel pressured not to purchase the item. Therefore, limiting them to buy products that represent them.

I believe that choices are set in place to assist humans in making pathways to create a different path for each person to take. Though there are downfalls from these decisions, it is all based on the individual to make a decision and stick to it the whole way and even learn from these mistakes and do better next time.